Living life in the carpool lane..

Archive for March 12th, 2014

We moved ahead an hour this past weekend and I’m definitely feeling the effects.

I’ve never been a fan of this time change.  It just plain sucks. 

Now, with a toddler, I loathe this time change.  As a working mother, I absolutely LOATHE this time change.

If I was drinking coffee, I would probably be drinking two right now.

Our usual “plan of attack” for these time changes are to just run things “business as usual.”  We eat at our regular time and we sleep at our regular time.

As adults, I feel like we adjust better.

Toddlers do not live on a clock.  They don’t know the difference between the times of day.  They live their lives based on their internal clocks.  Actual time changes, but their internal one doesn’t.

This causes problems..

M wasn’t hungry at 6:30pm.  So I compromised and fed her at 7pm.  Her 8pm bathtime completely took me by surprise, so she didn’t get into the bath until 8:30pm.   We aren’t usually strict routine parents, so she’s completely flexible about these things.

Bedtime came.  None of us were really sleepy by the time 10pm came, so we compromised a bit and started the bedtime routine at around 10:30pm.  Yes, she sleeps late.  We all sleep pretty late, but it works for us.

Well, 10:30 pm now was 9:30 pm just a few days ago.  And at 9:30pm, M is usually running around the apartment singing at the top of her little lungs.

M didn’t sleep for about an hour and half.  She was tossing and turning in the bed, making it hard for us to sleep too. 

So I literally lost an hour of sleep!

Coffee.. give me coffee!!!

I know it’s only the first week.  I know she’ll adjust.  It’s just torture!!!

Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me


Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 27,031 hits
March 2014
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031