Living life in the carpool lane..

The Grand Californian…

Posted on: March 2, 2009

So I got back from my lovely business trip to Arizona on Friday.

I’m a wuss that can’t handle a one-hour time change.. and I have been battling whatever bug I have caught from one of my collegues or someone on the plane.. that I took today off from work and slept in until 11:00am.  That felt WONDERFUL!!!

I’ve been pondering what my big “comeback blog entry” would be.. and I think I have figured it out..

Things that I take for granted as a Californian.. the list..

In-n-Out Burgers
As we drove by an In-n-Out.. someone from Colorado told us how she made her shuttle person drop her off at the In-n-Out that she passed by on their way to the hotel.  She had heard about the place and new she had to try it when she saw one.  I.. on the other hand.. have several In-n-Outs within a 20-mile radius of me..

The beach
Someone also said they have never been to the ocean.. I live an hour from the ocean.. and I hardly go.. hearing that from that collegue made me realize that I need to try to go more often..

Disneyland
There weren’t any people from the Florida area.. so I was the only one that was closest enough to any sort of Disney park.  They all thought it was pretty interesting that I frequent Disneyland and own a premium annual pass.. I’m not sure if it was “interesting good” or “interesting bad..”  but it was “interesting..”

Frozen yogurt
I asked some of them if they noticed a sudden boom in “self-service frozen yogurt” places.  They said no, but saw a sudden surgence of smoothie places.. like Jamba Juice.. Hmmm.. interesting..

Sunny Southern California
We had wonderful weather in Arizona that week.. many of them lived east of Arizona and were going back to cold, rainy, snowy weather.  Someone said that their husband had said that they were having warm weather.. and when they meant warm.. they meant SIXTY DEGREES… I’m usually wearing a hoodie in that weather.. I love sunny southern california!

Leave a comment

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 27,030 hits
March 2009
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031