Living life in the carpool lane..

Those major hair decisions….

Posted on: March 17, 2016

M made a major decision for herself the other day.

M made the decision to grow out her bangs.

M has had bangs ever since her hair was long enough and thick enough for them.

To save money, this past year or so, I’ve been the one trimming her bangs in between hair cuts.

She’s been due for a bangs trim over the past few weeks, but we’ve just been too busy to do so.

This past weekend, I was planning on finally giving her hair a trim, and she finally turns to me and says,

“Mommy, I just want to grow my bangs out.”

Wow.  That came from out of no where.  It never really occurred to me that she was conscious about her hair.  I didn’t really she was old enough to think about those things.  I didn’t think that bangs were a big deal.  I’ve always had bangs, she’s always seen me with bangs, I just figured, she’d have them too.

She’s four and a half.  She’s made her first real big girl decision.  I mean, this feels bigger than deciding what shoes she’s going to wear today, or how many braids she wants in her hair (it’s usually two).

But, if you’ve read my blog over the years, you know I tend to add a lot of significance to things most people might find mundane…

It’s her decision, so I’m respecting it.

I also had to warn her that growing her bangs out is a process.  She’s going to have to wear a clip in her hair for awhile, luckily, she has an endless supply.  (Shameless plug: I make clips and sell them at my Etsy store, click here)

I also told her that it’s ok for her to change her mind.

So we’ll see how this goes.  I’m curious to see how she looks without the bangs.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,463 hits
March 2016
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
