Living life in the carpool lane..

One (or two) Little Word(s)

Posted on: March 16, 2016

This year, I decided to not formally do One Little Word, but to still incorporate a word into my year.

This year, I also decided to do two words.  One word is for me.  One word is for the family.

My word this year is EXPLORE.

Last year, I just wanted to survive.  Life with a new baby proved to be a bit overwhelming.  It’s amazing how one little person can make a family feel so complete, but so different, at the same time!  I was trying to figure out how to function.  There were so many changes, becoming a full stay at home mom, taking care of TWO kids.  It was a struggle.  We stayed home a lot because I never really felt brave enough to go out with the two girls without any help.  I was scared I’d mess something up.  I was scared to look like I didn’t know what I was doing.  Just the thought of preparing an outing without Hubby felt overwhelming.  So we only went out without Hubby if it was absolutely necessary.

Towards the end of the year, however, as K got older, and I was much more adjusted, we were able to go out just to get some fresh air.  I was much more confident in getting us out the door and we started going out more.

So this year, I want to further boost my confidence with the word EXPLORE.  This year, we try to go places we don’t usually go.  I want to take my girls to places outside of our usual Target, Starbucks, and Walmart trips.  I want to EXPLORE the libraries, parks, and other fun places.  It doesn’t have to these major outings.  I just want them to be a little more out of our comfort zone.  EXPLORE.

For the family, I chose the word ACTION.

Hubby is very much into fitness, but like me, he’s had to adjust to life as a family of four.  His fitness routine kind of fell to the wayside, as did mine.  This year, we want to change that.  So with ACTION, we want to take more walks.  We want to do more activities.  We plan on teaching M to finally move on from her tricycle and possibly get her on biciycle with training wheels.  K loves to walk around open spaces, so we can go to a park and just walk, run and play.  Hubby wants us to walk to the local bagel shop on some weekend mornings.  It’s all about being active.  ACTION.

What is your one little word, and have you had any success in implementing it so far this year?

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,385 hits
March 2016
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
