Living life in the carpool lane..

Random Act of Kindness…

Posted on: August 27, 2015

Untitled

The stories are all over social media.  Someone does a good deed.  Those stories show that there are still good people in this world.  Despite all the negativity in the news and in this world, there is a glimmer of hope that good still exists.

I never thought it would happen to me.

I never thought I’d be the recipient of a random act of kindness.

But on August 6th, I was.

It was my second attempt at going to the DMV to renew my license.  The first time, I didn’t realize that the DMV opened an hour later than normal and since Hubby was on vacation, we had places to go.  So, I decided to try again two days later.  Two days later, I find myself in line again for the DMV.

While in line, a DMV employee was going down the morning line making sure everyone had the proper paperwork.  I was given a clipboard to fill out some last minute information and noticed a sign on the clipboard.

“CASH OR CHECK ONLY. NO CREDIT CARDS.”

Cash?  Not enough in my wallet.  Check book?  In my other purse.  ATM Card?  I forgot my PIN# so I couldn’t withdraw any cash.

I call up Hubby again to tell him that I was going home AGAIN because I didn’t have the money to complete the renewal.

The gentleman behind me heard that this was my second attempt to visit the DMV and said he would hold my place in line while I went to the ATM.  I told him that I didn’t know my PIN#.

Then, he shocked me.

He offered to pay for my driver’s license renewal.

I was shocked.  I told him that I wanted to get his mailing address or email address or some sort of information so that I could pay him back.

He told me not to worry.  He said he did stuff like this all the time.  He liked helping people.  He told me the only thing he would like me to do was pay it forward.  He wanted to me to do something nice for someone else in need.

Cue the tears.

I cried.  Tears streamed down my face.  I was so grateful.

My faith in humanity was restored.  It was a great remember that there is still good in this world.

I received my new driver’s license in the mail the other day.  I owe it all to the kindness of one man in line with me at the DMV.  Every time I see my license, I will be reminded that there are still good people out there and that I have to be good to others as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,576 hits
August 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
