Living life in the carpool lane..

CutieQ Cards n Crafts – Chevron Quilt Part 2

Posted on: August 26, 2015

Chevron Quilt Part 1

Progress on this quilt is a lot slower than I’d like to admit.  Ideally, this quilt should come together quickly.  It’s finding the time to get it done that is proving to be difficult.  I am determined to get this quilt completed before the weather starts to cool off.  Plus, posting progress on the blog gives me a bit of accountability.

Ok.. so here we go..

When we last left off, I was cutting fabric into triangles.  I finished that and began arranging the triangles into the chevron pattern I love so much.

Untitled

I laid out the entire quilt.  It gave me an idea of how big the quilt might be and how many triangles I really needed to create the quilt.

Then, I started putting the half-square triangles together.

Untitled

After sewing them together, I took them to the ironing board to set the seam on press it flat…

I learned a very important lesson from doing this…

Untitled

The final half-square triangles are smaller than the original square!  Ok.. maybe I should have known this, but I didn’t.  On the left is the 5in square I created all the triangles with.  On the right is the completed half-square triangle that is now a 4.5in square.

It changes things.  My original layout of the quilt showed how big the quilt will approximately be.  Now, I might have to add extra rows and columns to make it the size I desire.

Good thing I have a lot of extra triangles to play with.

I have to finish sewing all the half-square triangles together before I can decide if I need more.  I’m hoping at the next update, I’ll have a better idea of what I’m doing!

2 Responses to "CutieQ Cards n Crafts – Chevron Quilt Part 2"

It may be slow going, but it looks fantastic! Keep up the great work.

I like your colors.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,573 hits
August 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
