Living life in the carpool lane..

85/15

Posted on: August 14, 2015

It’s tough.

There are days that I feel like I’m being pulled in opposite directions.

K is at that age where the attention is constant.  Not only does she crave personal contact, she’s also very active and needs to be hovered over to make sure she doesn’t hurt herself.  Even in the playpen, an enclosed space, she needs to be carefully watched since she has learned how to stand and grip her way around the perimeter.  But she’s also trying to let go, stand on her own, and trying to take shortcuts from one corner of the playpen to the other.  This results in constant falling if I’m not there to catch her.

M just wants my attention.  It’s totally understandable.  It’s sad.

If I had to break it down, I feel like I spend 85% of my time dealing with K and only a mere 15% dealing with M.

It makes me feel bad because I know M misses me.

She tries to steal moments every once and awhile.  More often than not, it’s when I’m in the middle of watching her little sister.

It breaks my heart when she tries to sit on my lap while her sister is playing on the floor and crawling away somewhere.  I constantly have to ask her (nicely and apologetically) to get off my lap so I can make sure K is safe.

Bedtime was always my time to catch up with M.  However, K is going through an extremely clingy stage and will not allow Hubby to put her to bed at all.  If M and I go upstairs for bed, K will cry and cry until I have no choice but to go take care of her.

I know it’s a phase K is going through and everything will work itself out, but I just feel so terrible about how uneven my attention is.

Luckily, Hubby had the week off last week (hence, no blogs) and I was able to take M on a little ‘mommy and me’ date.  We went out to Michael’s to go craft shopping and then we had a milkshake.  I could tell she loved spending that time with me and it seemed to refresh her when we got home.

I’m hoping to find more time alone with her every so often so she doesn’t feel so neglected.

How did you deal with the difference of attention between your children?  I’d love to hear how you deal with this in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,536 hits
August 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
