Living life in the carpool lane..

Talk Nicely

Posted on: August 11, 2015

The best thing about M growing up is her growing communication skills.

The worst thing about M growing up is her growing communication skills.

Talk, forming sentences, learning to express her feelings.. it’s the best and worst thing about being a three, almost four, year old…

It’s the best because we can now have conversations.  She can tell me what she wants.  She can tell me how she feels.  It’s no longer the guessing game it was when she was younger.

But with all that comes ‘the attitude.’

Yes, I know she’s learning to express herself.  Yes, I know she’s picking up inflection and tone from what she observes around her.  Yes, it’s all about growing up.

But if I don’t teach her, she’ll never learn, right?

There are times where her frustration will cause her to answer me back in a way that is just so full of attitude.  It’s not a very respectful way to answer me or to talk to any adult.

That’s when I remind her, “Talk nicely.”  She will repeat what she said in a more pleasant tone.

There are times when she is just demanding.  She wants a particular object or action, and she wants it now!

That’s when I remind her, “Talk nicely.”  She will repeat what she said in a more pleasant tone, adding a ‘please’ at the end of the sentence.

There are still plenty of things she needs to learn about expression and explanation.  If I don’t teach her to talk nicely now, she’ll carry it on to her older years and it may become a bad habit.

I can already see a difference.  There are times where she will resort to a nicer tone to get her point across.  I’m glad that she’s learning and understanding these lessons I try to teach her.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,537 hits
August 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
