Living life in the carpool lane..

DIY Laundry Detergent

Posted on: August 1, 2015

I’ve been wanting to try to make our own laundry detergent for some time now.  Transition from two incomes to one income has made me think about different ways we can save money, and all this talk about laundry detergent caught my eye.

4598715f9586566dac0daef05ce409cf

Link to pin: here.

I did a lot of reading through various DIY deterent pins and this seemed to be the one that I was drawn to the most.

So we bought the ingredients that the blog post specified.

Untitled

It was surprisingly easy to find all of these items.  They were pretty located in one section of one aisle at our local Walmart.  Seriously.  It was that easy.  Everything was there.  We spent roughly $30ish on all the items, including the large bin to store it all in.

The hardest part about making this deterent was the grating of the Fels-Naptha soap.

Untitled

Hubby agreed to do it for me because he knows how clumsy I can be.  I would have certainly hurt myself if I had to do this.  He had all three bars of soap grated within an hour or less.

Untitled

M had to watch what was going on.  She kept saying that it looked like daddy was grating cheese.  We had to tell her that was NOT cheese.  Thankfully, she didn’t decide she needed to taste it to be sure.  She just liked watching daddy do something out of the ordinary.

After all of the soap was grated, he poured the rest of the powders into the bin.  My suggestion is to do that outside.  Hubby was super careful about not stirring up too much dust, but I think a well-ventilated area would be much better for the next time.

We’ve used it several times.  The detergent doesn’t get all sudsy, but we’ve been pretty satisfied with the results.  Our clothes smell fresh due to the Fels-Naptha soap and our garage always smells like fresh laundry.

I’ll try to blog again about it after some time has passed, but so far, I’m liking what I’m seeing.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,463 hits
August 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
