Living life in the carpool lane..

CutieQ Cards n Crafts – Chevron Quilt Part 1

Posted on: July 14, 2015

I’m doing it again.

I’m making a quilt.

This time, I’m making a traditional quilt, not a rag quilt.

There is  A LOT that I don’t know about making a quilt and I probably should have taken a real class at a fabric store, but I feel like I’ve watched enough Youtube videos that I just might be able to pull this off..

When I first got to Joann’s Fabric store, I was overwhelmed.  How much fabric will I buy for the quilt top?  How much batting will I need?  What about the backing fabric and the binding?!  I was going a bit crazy and overwhelmed with the entire process that I almost felt like giving up.

I left the store that day feeling very discouraged about the whole thing.  However, I still wanted to do the quilt.

So, I decided to just take things one step at a time.

I’m winging it…

I went back to the store and I bought what I needed for the quilt top only.

UntitledI bought half a yard of three different pink fabrics and half a yard of three different blue fabrics.  I also bought 2 yards of white fabric. I’m in the process of cutting the fabric into 5 inch squares, and then cutting them on the diagonal to make triangles. Untitled

Cutting the fabric is taking me a while since I can only do this at night when the kids are asleep.  I’m currently working on cutting the white fabric into the triangles, so I’m almost done.  I can’t wait to sew the white and patterned fabric triangles together to make some fun squares!

Follow this blog to follow my quilt making process…

1 Response to "CutieQ Cards n Crafts – Chevron Quilt Part 1"

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,463 hits
July 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
