Living life in the carpool lane..

Fourth of July 2015

Posted on: July 9, 2015

This year’s Independence Day was a memorable one.

This was K’s first Fourth of July.  This was M’s first experience with fireworks.

Curbside fireworks aren’t allowed where we live, but they are still allowed in the area that I grew up.  So, we made the trek to my parent’s house and bought a set of fireworks and sparklers.  We took them to my aunts house so the whole family can have fun.

I thought M would be scared of the loud, booming noises.  I was wrong.  She absolutely LOVED it.  My aunt’s house is perfectly situated between several of the local fireworks shows, so we had a great view of fireworks without the crowds!

M loved the “fireworks in the sky.”  She loved watching all the colors and how it sparkles all the way to the ground.

When it came to the curbside fireworks, she loved those too.  She was a little apprehensive about holding a sparkler stick, but I don’t blame her.  I was a little afraid at first too.  However, by the end of the night, she was holding on to the sparklers with a little help from Hubby.

She also had fun with those little poppers that you throw on the ground and they make a popping noise.  She figured out how hard to throw to make those little things go off and she was so happy when she succeeded.

K was in awe of the fireworks in the sky.  I thought that the loud noises would frighten her.  We covered her ears as she watched the show.  She didn’t flinch or turn away.  She watched the fireworks as they lit up the night sky.  It was great watching her experience it for the first time.

It had been a long time since I had played with curbside fireworks.  I had forgotten how fun it was to be with family and watching the fireworks light up the street.  This past holiday brought back many memories of childhood and I’m so glad we got to experience this.  I’m so glad my girls had a great time.

How was your Fourth of July?  Are fireworks still allowed in your city?  How did your kids enjoy the fireworks and sparklers?

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,380 hits
July 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
