Living life in the carpool lane..

Tagalog

Posted on: July 8, 2015

Legend has it that at three years old, while my parents were speaking to each other in Tagalog, I came up to them and said, “I know what you’re saying.”  Then I proceeded to translate their conversation correctly.

Ever since M was young, she’s shown an interest in different languages.  From about a year old, she had been watching a cartoon on Youtube called “Masha and The Bear.”  It’s super cute, but in Russian.  We never knew what they were saying, but understood the story lines based on what we saw.  It’s only within the last year or so that Masha and The Bear started translating their cartoons in English.

She’s loved Dora for as long as I can remember.  She knows some of her colors and can count 1-10 in Spanish.

It’s only natural that she started showing interest in the Tagalog language.

Since her English has been established, I figured that now is a good time to start introducing some Tagalog into her vocabulary.

Disclaimer:  My Tagalog is no where near fluent.  I speak very broken Tagalog, however, I can understand almost everything. 

I’ve been teaching her what I can.  Here is what she knows or is what she’s learning so far….

  • Numbers 1-10
  • How to say she’s finished
  • Yes
  • No
  • Water
  • Pee
  • Poop
  • Wash hands
  • Wipe
  • Mommy
  • Daddy
  • Hot
  • Cold

Her first Tagalog/English sentence she said was, “Mommy, can I have a lamig glass of tubig?”  That translates into “Mommy, can I have a cold glass of water?”

She’s getting better and she asks more and more questions about how to say various nouns and verbs in Tagalog.  I’m hoping that she will be able to speak Tagalog, even if it’s broken like mine.  I’m also hoping that she will have a better understanding of the language, like I do.

Do you speak another language at home?  How did you teach your child?

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,463 hits
July 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
