Living life in the carpool lane..

Water

Posted on: July 5, 2015

I’ve been slowly working on losing the baby weight from the moment K was born.  I started at 176.6lbs and I currently weigh 167.8lbs.  I’ve lost approximately 9-10lbs in the last six months.

That’s not as quick as I wanted, but it’s good to know that I am losing weight.

I have to admit, I don’t really exercise right now.  I walk.  I have my Fitbit set to 6000 steps a day.  That’s a struggle to hit on a daily basis just because the needs of the kids differ from day to day and I can’t always just walk around..

I briefly did the Master Cleanse in May and lost about 5lbs, only to gain about 3lbs back.  I didn’t try very hard on that cleanse so I understand why I didn’t do as well as I have in the past.

I do make better choices when it comes to my food and how much I eat.  It’s helped keep the weight down, but it hadn’t helped take the weight off.

I decided to drink more water.

Those that know me personally know I am NOT a water drinker.  In the past, I would probably drink one glass of water and spend the rest of the day drinking coffee or juices.  Water isn’t appealing to me.

But I knew I needed to make a change.

I asked some of my friends what is the right amount of water to drink.  I was told that it was about half of your current weight in ounces, and then more if you want to lose weight.

Calculating that, I figured I had to start drinking about 100 oz a day in order to lose weight…

ONE HUNDRED OUNCES?!

Coming from a person that could barely drink 8 oz a day, I felt it was nearly impossible!  I also didn’t want to suddenly shock my system with that much water overnight!

So, I’ve been slowly increasing my intake of water.  I haven’t gotten up to 100oz quite yet.  I’m at about 60-70 oz.

What I did was measure out how much 10oz looks in one of our glasses at home.  Then, every hour, I try to drink 10oz.  Every hour is ideal, but it’s doesn’t happen all the time because, you know, kids…

I’ve started to drink 20oz several times during the day in order work on increasing my intake.

I’ve increased my water intake for almost a month and I”m already noticing a difference.

I’ve lost a pound since I’ve started drinking water.

I’ve recently started fitting into some of my pre-prego clothes.  They are still a little snug, but I couldn’t even put them on a month ago without feeling that I would rip them!  I got to wear a pre-prego top at a recent family gathering.  It was quite a great feeling to know that it’s starting to fit.

I’m going to eventually work on incorporating more exercise than just walking.  I’m just waiting on the baby to get a little older.  I know that’s no excuse and there are tons of mothers than work out with infants, but I’m doing what’s right for me and my family.  There is weight to be lost, but I’m not in a complete rush to lose it all.  I know I can lose it all, I’ve done it before.

How much water do you drink a day?  How do you remember to drink water?

1 Response to "Water"

I track my water on my Fitbit app so I know how much I’m having. I fill a pint glass at a time. Before, I would never drink water but I’ve trained myself. Normally now I have 3-4l a day. Good luck losing the baby weight!

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,479 hits
July 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
