Living life in the carpool lane..

The testing phase…

Posted on: April 15, 2015

Dealing with a three and a half year old is hard.

One minute she’s super duper sweet and cuddly.  The next minute she’s refusing to do anything.

“No!” seems to be her favorite response to everything, yet, I’m not allowed to say it.

She dislikes when I raise my voice or talk firmly to her, but doesn’t realize that if she just listened the first time, none of the consequences would happen..

One minute she’s my best friend.  The next minute I’m her worst enemy.

I hate that, on some days, I feel like all I do is reprimand her.  I feel like all I do is make my kid cry.

In the midst of her tears, I keep telling her, “all you have to do is listen…” over and over again.  I feel like a broken record.

Now I know how my mom felt…

I totally know this is a phase.  I’ve taken enough child development classes in college (ok, just one...) to know that this is the age where she’s learning how far she can go before I lose my mind and she gets in trouble.  I know she’s testing her boundaries.  I know that it’s up to me to set those boundaries.

But it’s exhausting.

I’m taking things one day at a time.  Yesterday may have been a bad day, but we always wake up the next morning with a clean slate.

Everyday with a three and a half year old is different.  Good or bad, I fall in love with her more and more everyday.

1 Response to "The testing phase…"

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,385 hits
April 2015
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
