Living life in the carpool lane..

S – Stay at home mom

Posted on: February 20, 2015

Read about my ABC blog series here.

Look back – A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L , M, N, O, P, Q, R

I’ve been home since July of last year when I was suddenly put on bedrest due to my subchrionic hemmorhage early in my pregnancy.

Now that I have the baby, the big question is whether or not I’m going to go back to work.

It’s been a subject that we have been discussing for awhile.

I’ve been away from work for about 8 months now.  It seems almost normal being a “stay at home mom.”

M has thrived so much since I started staying home.  Even if I was under limited capacity, M seemed to just love that I am around 24/7.

I can’t imagine going back anymore.  It just seems…. mean.

I hated being a working mom… I felt like I was just a part-time mom.  I missed out on a lot of the daytime with her, only seeing in the late afternoon and evening for dinner and bedtime.. It didn’t seem fair to her.  It didn’t seem fair to me.  I wanted to parent her, not anyone else.

I also couldn’t balance life.  Cooking, cleaning, laundry, parenting.. I couldn’t find the right balance.  Everything was a mess because all I wanted to do was be with M.

(Ok.. so things are STILL a mess around here.. but that’s because I have a newborn and I’m still figuring things out… the excuses just never end, do they?)

Millions of mothers CAN do the working mom thing and do it successfully.  I just felt like I couldn’t.  I felt chaotic.  I felt like I had no control.

Once I stayed home, it’s like my world suddenly made sense.  Ok, so I was on bedrest.  Ok, so I was very limited with what I could and could do.  Ok, so staying at home during my pregnancy seemed… easy.

Now, I’m staying at home with two kids.  It’s hectic.  It’s chaotic.  Sometimes I don’t shower.  Sometimes I forget to brush my teeth.  My hair is constantly a mess.  I wear the same clothes for several days until they smell so much like baby spit-up that I HAVE to change.  I have NO time to myself.  The only adults I talk to are Hubby and my parents.

Staying home seems so much harder than working…

But I want to stay… I want to stay home.

(Don’t forget to click these badges to rate my blog and vote for me. All you need to do is click!)

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs

8 Responses to "S – Stay at home mom"

[…] back – A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L , M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, […]

[…] back – A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L , M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, […]

[…] back – A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L , M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, […]

[…] back – A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L , M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, […]

[…] back – A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L , M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, […]

[…] back – A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L , M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, X, […]

[…] B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L , M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
