Living life in the carpool lane..

How I handle Pinterest meals…

Posted on: January 28, 2015

Stuck on a dinner idea?  We’ve been looking to Pinterest for some inspiration.

Sometimes, before we go grocery shopping, I will scour Pinterest for some meal ideas.  We take inventory on the types of meats we have in the freezer, and I just do a search for those types of meals.

We seem to have tons of chicken in our fridge.  I don’t know how we accumulated so much chicken, but we have it.  So we decided we needed to use it.

I went on Pinterest and pinned these two recipes.

Untitled Untitled

These two recipes were perfect for our family.  They were quick and flavors were good enough for M to enjoy.

Now, when I find a recipe, I have a difficult time following them precisely, unless I’m baking.

So when I find a recipe, I tend to just take the “idea” of the meal and make it my own.

For the Chicken Asparagus Lemon Stir Fry, we didn’t have any lemon juice, so I didn’t use it.  I also added mushrooms with the asparagus.  The recipe called for a certain amount of ginger, but I decided to lessen it because I didn’t want it to be too harsh for M.  However, I did make sure that we got the hint of a ginger flavor in the dish.  I would like to try it with lemon juice eventually.  I just have to remember to buy some next time I want to make this dish.  My version of the dish was M and Hubby approved, but I would love to kick up the ginger flavor eventually.

For the Honey Soy Baked Chicken Thighs, we found this recipe last minute.  The recipe states to marinate the chicken thighs overnight in the marinade, but since this was a last minute find, we only let the chicken sit in the marinade for about 10-20 minutes before we cooked them.  In this case, we saw the ingredients and just added them all to taste.  We didn’t even look at the measurements.  We wanted a good balance of the sweet from the honey and the salt from the soy sauce, and I think we found it.  The chicken smelled so good and it was most definitely M approved.  Next time we do this, we would like to let the chicken marinate overnight.

So basically, we use the Pinterest pins as more of an inspiration than a definitive recipe.  It helps give me a better idea of what to buy during our weekly grocery trips.  Sometimes, I pin a recipe that inspires me to create something completely different from the pin.  It’s all about inspiration.

How do you handle Pinterest meals?

(Don’t forget to click these badges to rate my blog and vote for me. All you need to do is click!)

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,561 hits
January 2015
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
