Living life in the carpool lane..

False alarm…

Posted on: December 22, 2014

False labor.

When I was pregnant with M, I had my share of Braxton Hicks, but I never had false labor.  When I was pregnant with M, my water broke at 36 weeks to our shock and surprise and before we knew it, we were parents.

But false labor?  Nope.  Never.

Until last week.

We were all in bed.  Then, it started.

It started out as Braxton Hicks, nothing out of the ordinary, just the normal tightening and discomfort.

But then, it kept coming.  One after another.

I did what was suggested of me to determine if it was truly preterm labor.  I went to the bathroom to empty my bladder, I drank a lot of water, and I lied on my left side.  Nothing was slowing it down, it felt like it was increasing everything.

I recently downloaded an app called “Full Term.”  It’s an app that helps keep track of contractions.  All you have to do is hit “start” when a contraction starts and “end” when it ends.  The app times it and calculates the frequency.

Because the tightening started coming in intervals, I decided to use the app to keep track.

The contractions were lasting for 50 seconds to a minute long and coming in ever 2 1/2 to 3 minutes.

As the tightening continued to come and go, the intensity started increasing.  It started getting harder to talk through.  I started using breathing techniques that we learned three years ago during our Lamaze classes we took when pregnant with M.

I decided that I needed to that the anti-contraction medicine I was given back in October when my cervix first shrunk.  I had been hesitant to take it because I hate taking any sort of medicine while pregnant.  However, the app was showing that I had at least 10 contractions within the past hour, so I had to take it.  I figured that if I didn’t take it and I went to the hospital, the doctors might give me something stronger to stop the contractions and I didn’t want that at all.

So I took the medicine and called Labor and Delivery to ask how long it would take the medicine to kick in and slow the contractions down.

By then, the contractions were hurting.  Not only were they hard to talk through, they were hard to breathe through because they were hurting.  I kept concentrating on the breathing exercises to try to calm myself down, but I was obviously very nervous.  Was this it?  Were we going in?  Were we going to have this baby at 34 weeks?

Labor and Delivery told me that it would take about half an hour for the medicine to kick in and to wait about an hour to determine if we needed to really come to the hospital or not.  So I got off the phone with them and continued to try to relax and concentrate on breathing, hoping the medicine could kick in soon.

Within half an hour, I noticed the intensity of the contractions were decreasing.  Then as the hour progressed, the contractions also started to space themselves farther apart and decreased into just a mere uncomfortable tightening.  By the time the hour passed, everything was done.

If I didn’t have that medicine, who knows what could have happened.

I’m hoping that the episode didn’t cause my cervix to dialate.  I’m hoping that I can still last the week and have this baby AFTER Christmas…

(Don’t forget to click these badges to rate my blog and vote for me. All you need to do is click!)

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,399 hits
December 2014
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
