Living life in the carpool lane..

Rag Quilt – Cutting the fabric

Posted on: November 24, 2014

I cut the fabric earlier this week.

It was my very first time cutting fabric and I have to tell you, Youtube makes it look easy.

It may have been my supplies.

Untitled

I’m using a fairly small cutting mat.  It’s the one that I use for my papercrafting.  I’m not using one of those flat rulers that you can find in the fabric section of a craft store.  That ruler used to be my brother’s, who used it during his college art days.  The only thing “fabric crafting” that I purchased for this project was that rotary cutter.

My cuts weren’t perfect like they looked on YouTube, but once I realized that I would eventually be “ragging” the edges, I was ok with a little imperfection.

It took about two different days to get all the fabric cut into 9 inch squares.

Untitled

I made 14 squares of these two colors.  Sorry the color is off.  It was evening when I cut them and I had to depend on the lamp in our house.

Untitled

I made 16 squares of each of these patterns.

The next item I have to cut is batting.

Then, I start to sew!

(Don’t forget to click these badges to rate my blog and vote for me. All you need to do is click!)

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,385 hits
November 2014
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
