Living life in the carpool lane..

Chocolate Chip Cookies w/ m&ms – Ghirardelli

Posted on: November 8, 2014

I’m always on the look out for a good chocolate chip cookie recipe.  M wanted some chocolate chip cookies with m&ms baked in.  I found a recipe on the bag of m&ms, but wanted to see what else what out there.  The recipe I used was found on the back of a bag of Ghirardelli dark chocolate chips.  I will type out the recipe below and then tell you what sort of modifications I made at the end.

2 1/4 C Flour
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
1 C (2 sticks) Butter, softened, not melted
3/4 C White Sugar
3/4 C Brown Sugar
2 tsp Vanilla Extract
2 Eggs
2 C Ghirardelli Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 375deg F.  Stir flour with baking soda and salt; set aside.  Beat butter with sugar and brown sugar at medium speed until creamy.  Add vanilla and eggs, one at a time, mixing on low-speed until incorporated.

Gradually blend dry mix into creamed mix.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop by tablespoon onto ungreased cookie sheets.  Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown.

My modifications:

  • White and brown sugars – When using my 1/4C measuring cup, I under-measured each 1/4C increment.  It wasn’t drastic, but I know I put less than what the recipe was asking for.  The result was a cookie that wasn’t too sweet.  The m&ms compensated for a lot of the sweetness.
  • m&ms – Because M was asking for m&ms in the cookies, I started off by putting 1/2C of m&ms, then 1/2C of the chocolate chips.  Then I just eyeballed adding the more m&ms or chips to my liking.
  • Chilled dough – The recipe didn’t require the dough to be chilled, but in my previous cookie baking experiences, I’ve had better results when I let the dough sit and chill in the fridge.  I would make the dough in the morning and bake the cookies after lunch or during nap time.  That gave the dough about 3-4 hours in the fridge.
  • Baking time – I baked my cookies for 10 minutes.  They seemed a bit undercooked, but leaving them on the cookie sheet for about 5-10 minutes cooks them the rest of the way through.

My thoughts?

I really loved this cookie.  It’s soft and stays soft after it cools down completely.  The actual cookie part isn’t sweet at all.  The chips and m&ms add enough sweetness without being overkill.  M LOVES these cookies straight out of the oven while the chips and m&ms are still a little melted.  I’ve made these cookies twice and have had successful batches every time.

Untitled

Fresh baked cookies anyone?!

(Don’t forget to click these badges to rate my blog and vote for me. All you need to do is click!)

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs

3 Responses to "Chocolate Chip Cookies w/ m&ms – Ghirardelli"

Great post! 🙂

Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

[…] Chocolate Chip Cookies w/ m&ms – Ghirardelli […]

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,438 hits
November 2014
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
