Living life in the carpool lane..

Introducing M to the pregnancy..

Posted on: June 18, 2014

When we found out that we were pregnant, we let M know right away.

For months now, she had been into babies.  She would constantly take her baby doll and carry it around, rock it to sleep, feed it.  She even named it “Brother.”

So we figured that it would be ok for us to tell her that there is a baby on the way.

I don’t know if I was expecting her to get excited.  I don’t know if I was expecting her to go straight to my stomach and cover it with kisses..

I really don’t know what I was expecting to happen.

This is what happened:

She was playing with one of her stuffed animals when I told her.  I told her that there was a baby in my tummy.  She said, “yes” without even looking up at me and continued playing with her toy.

Ok.  So it was very uneventful.

I did get her to stop playing for a quick second to give my belly a kiss, but that was about it.

Overall, she wasn’t impressed.  She’s two.  She doesn’t get it.  She probably won’t get it until my stomach gets huge or the baby is actually here.

How did you introduce your little one to your new pregnancy?  Did you tell them right away?  Did you wait until you were showing more?  I’d love to hear your stories in the comments!

(Don’t forget to click these badges to rate my blog and vote for me. All you need to do is click!)
Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs

2 Responses to "Introducing M to the pregnancy.."

I wrote a post a while back on this… http://bellevuetoddlers.wordpress.com/2014/04/03/new-baby/

Thank you for this! I will definitely keep this post in mind when closer to my due date for pointers on how to help M deal with the new baby.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,491 hits
June 2014
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
