Living life in the carpool lane..

Finding out..

Posted on: June 17, 2014

We found out in May that we were pregnant, but instead of celebrating, we were kind of in a wierd limbo.

When we found out we were pregnant with M, it was easy.  The pregnancy test lit up so brightly and so quick that there wasn’t any doubt that I was pregnant.

This time around, it wasn’t quite as clear.  I waited about 5 days after I missed my period.  When I took the test, it took awhile for the positive line to show up.  When it did show up, it was so very faint, but present.  It was as if I had to squint my eyes really hard to really notice it.

I tried again the next day.  Same result.

I waited two days.  Same result.

My father, who works in the hospital laboratory told me that when results look the way mine did, he still considered them positive and that I should try later again, just to be sure.

In the meantime, Hubby looked up what faint positive pregnancy tests could mean and it wasn’t very reassuring.  There were stories of miscarriages, which was something I really didn’t want to deal with.

I wasn’t feeling any cramping.  I wasn’t bleeding.  One thing that was happening was that the morning sickness started to kick in. 

I decided to just let it go.  I made the OB-GYN appointment for mid June and prayed for the best.

When my appointment came, I was estimated to be about 9 weeks along.  However, the ultrasound showed that I was actually about a week behind.  The baby measured about 8 weeks old.  The midwife said that was consistent with the faint positive pregnancy test results.  It was most likely very early in the pregnancy when I tested and while the pregnancy hormone was present in my system, it was just in lower amounts because of the age of the baby.

Sigh of relief.

Have any of you experienced any of these moments?  I’d love to hear your stories in the comments below!

(Don’t forget to click these badges to rate my blog and vote for me. All you need to do is click!)
Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,460 hits
June 2014
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
