Living life in the carpool lane..

Those potty training ups and downs..

Posted on: May 15, 2014

In the last two weeks, I thought we were getting so close to perfecting the whole potty training thing.  She was keeping her diaper dry.  I was able to catch her to go potty before she would go in her diaper.  Although she was hesitant, she would still cooperate.  If I didn’t catch her on time, she would tell me that she had to go potty, even though she already went in her diaper.  While I begged her to try to tell me BEFORE she went, the fact that she would even tell me was a victory already.

This week, I feel like we took a step backwards.  She’s adamant NOT to go to the potty again.  She’s constantly going in her diaper.  When I do get her on the toilet, more often than not, she won’t go.  She’ll wait until I get her diaper on again for her to go AND she won’t tell me anymore.

They weren’t kidding when they said that potty training really tests your patience.

My only consolation is knowing that she will eventually learn.  I know she’ll get it in her own time.  We just gotta keep pressing on..

How do you deal with the ups and downs of potty training??

(Don’t forget to click these badges to rate my blog and vote for me. All you need to do is click!)
Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs

4 Responses to "Those potty training ups and downs.."

I’ve experienced everything that you are talking about. Hang in there! My only advice is that you really try to not let potty-training become a source of conflict for your child. You will not win! Haha.

Thanks! I don’t want to put too much pressure on her because I don’t want her to turn away from the potty completely, but I know that half time she says ‘no’ to the potty it’s because she’s busy playing.

I definitely know I”m on the losing end of this battle at the moment.. 🙂

When my little guy doesn’t want to stop playing to use the potty, I let him choose a toy to bring with him. Or I have him tell his toys he’ll be “right back”.

That’s a good idea. Sometimes I let her bring the toy with her. I stand it next to her on the counter and tell her that the toy is waiting for her..

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,431 hits
May 2014
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
