Living life in the carpool lane..

Following through..

Posted on: April 11, 2014

For awhile, we had been relying on empty threats when it comes to discplining M.

If you don’t stop that, I’m going to turn off the TV!”
“If you don’t stop that, I’m going to put back the play-doh!”

For awhile it worked… sort of.  We just had to remind her all the time!

Then, it stopped working. 

We knew that we had to finally follow through with our threats.

M was sitting on a computer chair in a way that can potentially hurt her.  We tell her all the time to not do that. 

Me: “M, stop that or I’m going to turn off Frozen.”
M: ….
Me: “M, do you want me to turn off Frozen?”
M: Yes. (
Probably not realizing what she was really going on.)

I turned off Frozen.

And then the water works started.  She cried.  Oh, she cried.

I explained to her why I turned it off and that I would turn it back on again if I saw her NOT sit on the chair that way.  She obeyed and the movie was turned back on.

It took about two or three more times of following through with our punishments before she realized we meant business when we told her to stop something.

Now, if we ask her “Do you want me to….” as a punishment, she answers “no,” and stops what she’s doing.

I think we safely say we won the battle, for now…

(Don’t forget to click these badges to rate my blog and vote for me. All you need to do is click!)
Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,491 hits
April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
