Living life in the carpool lane..

Whine…

Posted on: April 6, 2014

M has just hit the “over two and half” age mark and suddenly she’s big whiner.

When she hears something she doesn’t like, she’s either on the floor crying, or she’s whining and saying, “no” repeatedly..

I just don’t know why…

My mom likes to think that THIS is the true onset of the ‘terrible two’ phenomenon.  A lot of people with older children love to tell me that ‘terrible two’ doesn’t really start until she’s two and a half, almost three.

Oh boy, so if it’s starting NOW.. then I’m in trouble.

She almost reminds me of a hormonal teenage girl.  She’s got those ups and downs of an adolescent.  It sort of scares me to think about what she’s going to be like at 12 and 13 years old..

I’ve been trying to curb her reactions by picking her up on the floor, looking her straight in the eyes, and telling her that she doesn’t need to cry when she hears something she doesn’t like. 

I also make sure she calms down and stops crying before she can move on her with day after the mini-tantrum. 

I try to talk to her all the time, telling her that it’s ok to simply say ‘no’ without resorting to tears.  Also, it’s ok to tell us what she wants without resorting to whining for it or crying for it. 

Sometimes, she responds, ‘yes’ like she truly understands what I’m trying to tell her, but I know that it just goes in one ear and out the other..

I’m hoping this is a short-lived phase and that she’ll be my pleasant, easy-going M once again..

At least she still gives out great hugs!

(Don’t forget to click these badges to rate my blog and vote for me. All you need to do is click!)
Rate My Blog @ Top Mommy Blogs Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,479 hits
April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
