Living life in the carpool lane..

Bedtime..

Posted on: February 22, 2014

There is a list of books that sit by her toddler bed that must be read every night..

Go, Dogs Go!
I Will Teach My Dog A Lot of Words
Leap Frogs “Dora 1,2, 3!”
Leap Frogs book about Disney Princesses
A small book about Beauty & The Beast
I Love You Through & Through

Every night it’s, “read the book, go dogs..” then, “read the book, lot of words..” et cetera..

We have read these so many times that most times, she’s reading them to ME!

There are times when I just want to breeze through the book, skip a few pages.. or just say “not now.”

But I don’t.

For one, if I skip a page, she knows the books so well, she knows and corrects me..

Secondly, this is her routine.  She looks forward to this time.  She doesn’t know that I’m too tired.  She doesn’t realize that we’ve been reading these same six books for months and months.  She doesn’t even care that it’s the same story over and over again.  She likes it.  It’s mommy and M time. 

How could I breeze through these books when every time I turn a page, her face lights up as she recites it back to me?

How could I feel too tired to read through “Go, Dogs Go” when she and I have special actions we do during parts of the story?  It’s like we have our little inside jokes to go along with the story.

How can I brush that off like its trivial, when it’s so important to her?

So every night, I pull every little ounce of energy I have left, grab the stack of books and just power through it.

It’s tough at first, trying to have energy when I feel like I’m running on empty.  But by the time I get to the final book, I’m so glad to have that moment with her. 

What books do you read during bedtime?

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,463 hits
February 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
