Living life in the carpool lane..

I understand the gummy bears…

Posted on: February 18, 2014

When my brother was young, during any meal, my mother would accompany his food with gummy bears.  It got him to eat whatever my mom would try to feed him.

For years, I thought it was the strangest thing.  Not only because gummy bears don’t necessarily go with Filipino food, but because I never got to have any.. no.. I’m not bitter.

It was a phase my little brother went through during a picky eating phase of his life.

I swore that I would never do that with any of my future children.  Gummy bears just didn’t feel like a good habit to get my child to eat.  It was just weird, but my mom stood her ground AND my brother ate.

Well, now, M is going through a super picky eating phase.  All she wants is pastas, breads, and rice…

I read on Babycenter that bribing may not necessarily be a completely bad thing, so Hubby and I have been trying to give M some incentives. 

Cookies, m&ms, yogurt, ice cream… they may not be the best choices, but they’ve been working.  She’s sworn off meat, but now will try 1-2 bites during her meal.  She’s been refusing some vegtables, but will now eat a few. 

I understand the lure of the gummy bears… I understand my mom’s intentions..

My motherhood lesson??
You really don’t know how you are going to deal with your child until you are actually dealing with a child..

What are some of the ways you get your picky eater to eat?

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,438 hits
February 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
