Living life in the carpool lane..

Toddler food: Udon noodles

Posted on: February 17, 2014

M is currently all about the pasta.  She loves noodles.  LOVES noodles.

Every dinner time is like an episode of Chopped on the Food Network.  Will I get put on the chopping block?  Will my food be good enough for M?

A few nights ago, I passed the test!  She LOVED my dinner, she had three servings!

I made beef with brocolli and udon noodles.   I don’t use measurements when I cook, but I will try to describe the meal as best as I could.

I started off by slicing up some beef into strips.  I browned the beef with some olive oil and garlic.  After it cooked, I poured a can of chicken broth over it.  I seasoned the broth and beef with some soy sauce and fish sauce.  I’m sure you can substitute fish sauce for oyster sauce depending on your flavor preferences.  After I seasoned, I added the broccoli to start to cook. 

While that was simmering, I started to cook the udon.  I buy dry, organic udon noodles at an Asian grocery store.  I boiled it according to the directions on the packaging.  After the noodles cook, I rinsed the noodles with some cold water. 

After the noodles are cooked, I go back to the beef and broccoli.  I added cornstarch to the broth in order to thicken it up so that it becomes a sauce instead of a broth.  Once the sauce thickens, I tossed the noodles into the mix.

The sauce coats the noodles and it’s just so yummy!

M LOVED it.  Every time she’d take a bite, she’d say “delicious!” 

It’s those moments that make me so happy to cook for her.  I just wish that she’d do that with EVERY meal that I make for her…

Are there any recipes you’d like to share that are toddler friendly?  I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,463 hits
February 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
