Living life in the carpool lane..

Toddler wrangling..

Posted on: January 18, 2014

Tantrums are NO joke!

I knew of the crying.  I knew of the flailing.  I knew of the screaming.  I knew of the throwing herself on the floor.

I didn’t know of the physical damage it could do to me.

Ok.  I’m exaggerating.  But still.

I didn’t realize how hard it was to wrangle a tantruming toddler. 

The following scenario is regarding bathtime.  See this blog post for the reference.

First, there’s the chasing after a wiggling and rolling toddler all over the living room floor.  Not only am I chasing after her, I’m bent over trying to pick her up at the same time.  She’s wiggling and rolling in an irratic pattern.  I don’t know where she’ll turn, but I’m bent over trying to pick her up while trying to figure out what direction she’s going to next.

Once I finally get her into a corner that she can no longer wiggle around, I sit down and try to pick her up into my lap.  THAT is impossible.  The minute I get my arms around her, she either goes limp into a dead weight, or she fights.  She contorts her body in such ways to get out of my hold.  No one told me what a toll that could have on my back!

The struggle can take about 5-15 minutes, but once I get a firm hold on her, there is the task of having to stand up from being on the ground.  Any sudden change in my motion causes her to start fighting me again.  Trying to get up with a twisting and turning 27lb toddler is painful.  Painful.

Then bath time was painful because she fought it so hard that the angle I used to bathe her was not good on my back. 

Lets not forget that once she is IN the bath, she actually LIKES the bath.  So once the bath was over, she was NOT happy again.

The struggle to get her OUT of the bath begins again.  This time, I have to scoop an angry, tantruming toddler out of a bathtub.  Talk about back pain!

I finally take her out of the bath, I’m soaking wet and in pain and the only thing I can do is run us straight to the couch so I can sit down.  Luckily, I am able to calm her down and the fighting finally stops.

She’s fine.

I’m in pain.

Oh my back!  There has to be a better way!

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,561 hits
January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
