Living life in the carpool lane..

Preconception…

Posted on: January 17, 2014

Before getting pregnant with M, there were certain precautions I took.  I started before Hubby and I even got married since I knew we wanted to start pretty quickly after we wed.

This time, I’m trying to do the same thing.

At the start of the year, I started taking prenatal vitamins. 

I did the “master cleanse” but I decided to stop early because I wanted to make sure that my body wasn’t too acidic from all the lemon water. 

I’ve increased my water intake.  I’ve stopped drinking coffee. 

Today, I started drinking a cup of milk in the morning.  

I’ve also increased my spinach and red meat intake.  When I was pregnant with M, I was anemic from the beginning.  By the time I was halfway through my pregnancy, I had to take iron supplements twice a day in addition to trying to eat more spinach and red meat.  This time, I’m going to try to eat the spinach and red meat (and other iron-rich foods) early on so that when I do get pregnant, I hope to not be anemic.  And if I do end up anemic, I hope that I don’t have to bump myself up to two iron supplements again. 

So far, I’m liking the idea of a second pregnancy.  The first time around, everything was new, everything was scary, everything was unknown.  Now, I have the experience, and I know how to deal and prepare.

How do you prepare yourself for pregnancy?  What are your preconception preparations?

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,576 hits
January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
