Living life in the carpool lane..

The downside..

Posted on: January 9, 2014

The downside to being a mommy, in my opinion, is having to lay down the law..

I hate being stern to M.  I know that if I don’t do it, she’ll eventually take advantage and become a full blown brat.

I’ve noticed over the past few days that she’s been really trying to test my patience.  It’s like she’s suddenly found a brick wall to hide behind and can’t hear us when we call her or try to tell her something..

Most of the time, she’s ok.  But there are just these instances where you can call her about 15-20 times (we counted) and she just won’t listen.

Playing.   She’s too busy playing.

When she wants something from us, and we tell her to do something first, she’ll gladly do it.  But if she’s in the middle of playing, and we tell her to do something.. brick wall.

She’s also decided that playing is far more important than anything else in the world.. like eating, going to the potty, taking a bath, go to bed, brush her teeth…

She used to LOVE taking a bath!  It was only last week that she would still drop everything she was doing and go straight to the bathroom if I went up and asked her, “M, you want to take a bath?!”

Now.. everything is “no.”  Not all the time, but usually, everything is no.

I know she’s getting older.  Her priorities are no longer MY priorities.  She’s testing her independence and seeing how much she can get away with.. and honestly, I have been letting her get away with certain things.. like climbing out of bed to go hang out with her night-owl daddy and going to bed with him at 1am..

But now, I know… it’s time to lay the law.. and it sucks!

I love being happy and playful with her, and I still am.. but I feel like now more than ever lately, it’s been, “Mimi is not smiling.  Mimi doesn’t think it’s funny.  That’s not good, M.”

I know this is JUST the beginning…

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,491 hits
January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
