Living life in the carpool lane..

Fever fears..

Posted on: December 17, 2013

Getting sick after having a febrile seizure just isn’t the same.

Before her seizure, I felt that I had her little colds and sicknesses under control.  I was calm.  I wasn’t too scared about her being sick.  I was worried, of course, but I always knew that they were simple viral infections that would run it’s course and leave.

After her seizure, I feel like I see it all with a different set of eyes.

There is definitely a fear now.  There is a fear that washes over me whenever her temperature goes any higher than 101.  There’s a fear that her fever will shoot up higher than her little body could handle and she’d get hit with another seizure.  The fear of another seizure is very real. 

Luckily, her fevers during this cold weren’t super high, nor did they sky rocket out of control.  She responded well to the fever reducer and eventually the fevers went away.  I know that this fear is something that I will have to deal with for a long time whenever M, or whatever future child, get sick. 

It’s definitely NOT fun. 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,569 hits
December 2013
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
