Living life in the carpool lane..

I let her cry…

Posted on: September 21, 2013

A few days ago, we were at my in-laws house so I could do a load of laundry.  We have a washer/dryer at home, but for some reason only MY clothes seem to be eaten up by the washer that I no longer do my laundry in our apartment… long story, maybe for some other time.

Hubby’s parents went out for the night after I came by to relieve them of M-watching duties, so we had the house to ourselves.

I had the TV on for M.  It was The Mickey Mouse Clubhouse on Disney Jr.

So, Hubby and I went to deal with the laundry.

M didn’t like that.

She wanted me, so she cried.  She cried for me.  She wanted me to stay with her.  She wanted me to be next to her.

Me:  M, I can’t stay with you right now because I have to help Daddy.  You can always come with me and stay with me. 
M: (cries)
Me:  Do you want to be with Mimi?
M: Yes.
Me:  Do you want to watch TV?
M: Yes.
Me:  Then you have to make a choice.  You can always stay with me.. I will just be with daddy over in the laundry area.

The laundry area was pretty accessible from where the TV is located.  She was always within earshot.

Well. She chose the TV over me, which Hubby so happily likes to point out.  But she cried for me and cried for me.

I had to just let her cry.  The laundry had to be done, and she’s old enough for me to not necessarily have to drop everything I’m doing to tend to her cries.  The times when I would just leave Hubby to do all the heavy lifting are kind of gone now.  M is pretty self-sufficient.  She has to learn to handle things on her own while I have to learn to start to contribute more into our daily lives instead of depending on Hubby to take the brunt of it. (Side note:  So very blessed to have an awesome Hubby that does tend to take the brunt end of things… I do love him lots!)

After awhile, the cries subsided into almost meaningless “ahhhhs.”  Most parents know what I’m talking about.  The “ahhs” where they know they should be crying, but they just don’t feel like crying…

I told Hubby, “As long as I can hear her, I know she’s ok.”

The cries turned into occasional whines, so Hubby decided to take a peek at her.

She was lying on the ground, tummy side down, elbows up, watching TV.

She was absolutely fine. 

She was so ok about everything, that when I did return to the TV room, I walked right by her to sit on the couch and she didn’t even notice until I said something!

In the end, the point of the story is… she chose TV over ME! 

 

1 Response to "I let her cry…"

[…] I don’t know if she’s learning how to control herself more, or she was feeling under the weather after we got back from Hawaii (she got sick from the germs on the plane), but she’s definitely not the crazy temper-tantrum terrible two year old I was describing in some posts from earlier in September.  Refer to here, here, here, here, and here. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
September 2013
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
