Living life in the carpool lane..

Use your words…

Posted on: September 19, 2013

I just hope I understand you…

By the time M was about a year and a half, she was talking fairly well.  I mean, I understood her most of the time.  She was able to identify objects, particularly objects she liked or needed..

Since then, I’ve encouraged her to “use her words.”

Now that she’s older, I try to emphasize using her words, especially since she’s well into her terrible two, temper tantrum phase.

She’s been ok with it… as long as I can understand her.

Case in point:
Last night’s bath.  She wanted to go into the bath with her shirt on.  As she was climbing in, I picked her up and took her shirt off.  She wasn’t happy with that and just started crying.  I had to reason with her that she couldn’t wear her clothes into the bath.  Then, she turns to me and says something that started with an “a.”  Through her tears, she was pleading with me with using this word I could not understand.

She was using her words, but I just didn’t understand them..

I ended up sticking her in the bath and she cried for awhile, most likely from the frustration of not being understood, then she was gleefully distracted by the running water and her toys.

I felt bad.  All this time, I tell her to use her words, and when she actually does try to use them, I had no idea what she was saying. 

Sigh.. Toddler problems..

1 Response to "Use your words…"

[…] two year old I was describing in some posts from earlier in September.  Refer to here, here, here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
September 2013
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
