Living life in the carpool lane..

Milk v Water

Posted on: September 17, 2013

It started out easy enough.

M asked for milk.  However, since M had been sick for the past few days, all she wanted was milk.

I wanted to give her water.

Well, M wanted milk and she was going to let me know that.

She asked me for milk.  I said, “Why don’t you drink some water instead?”

Well, I apparently said a bad thing.  It was as if I told her that she can never drink any liquid ever again.  It was like I told her that she was to be thirsty for the rest of her life.

She threw herself onto the ground and screamed and cried for milk.

When she calmed down, I offered her a compromise.  Drink a little bit of water, and then I will give her milk.

She cried.

But because I’m the mommy, I gave her the water anyway.  She drank it.  And she calmed down.

So, like I promised, I started to pour her milk.

She saw me take the milk out.  She even told me that I was holding milk.  She saw me pour the milk into her sippy cup.

But, I guess she wanted it in a bottle because when I handed it to her, she was on the floor and screaming and crying again.

She turned her back on me and on the milk.

So I sat with her.  I sat with her while she pouted away from me.

After a few minutes of pouting, she put a hand on my leg.  Soon after, she snuggled up into my lap.

I hugged her for a bit, then I told her in a super calm way that what was in the sippy cup was milk.  Then I asked her if she wanted it.  In her small voice, she calmly told me yes.  So I handed her the sippy cup and she took it and drank it.

Victory for me!

There have been many small frequent meltdowns, but this one seems to be the worst.  I’d like to say that I won this battle..

If only they will only be this easy from now on…

1 Response to "Milk v Water"

[…] terrible two year old I was describing in some posts from earlier in September.  Refer to here, here, here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,536 hits
September 2013
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
