Living life in the carpool lane..

Growth spurt..

Posted on: August 1, 2013

I was watching M a lot yesterday.

Just observing her.  I was watching her play, listening to her talk, watching her run around from room to room.

It’s the first time in awhile where I just sat and observed.

Being her mom, I don’t notice the changes unless I really sit and take notice.

She’s grown.  She’s definitely gotten taller.  She’s all legs!  She can reach the door knobs without getting on her tiptoes.  When she lies on the couch with her leg dangling off, she can now reach the floor.  She climbs in and out of the desk chair and couch with so much ease. 

She has a full head of hair.  It’s not thick, but it’s not so thin that you see right down to her scalp.  There’s a bit of her hair that can reach down her neck and a little past her shoulders.  She has a curl at the end of her hair.  She constantly has hair in her eyes which makes me want to go get her hair cut, but there’s another part of me that’s totally terrified of her hair getting messed up.

Her type of play consists of pretending to eat, cook, or feed.  She loves her dolls.  She will carry and sway them.  She bounces her baby doll and says, “Jump, jump, jump.”  She knows how to match colors on her pegboard (see here). 

After the library incident (see here), I’ve been working on sitting with her and coloring.  She loves markers over crayons (who doesn’t?!) and can tell me the colors of most of them.  Her hand/eye coordination has improved tremendously as she can uncap and cap the markers with minimal help.  She can sit and color with me for anywhere between 5-15 minutes, depending on her mood. 

She knows how to match people with pictures.  When there is a picture of me somewhere, she will point to the picture and point to me.  It’s as if she’s saying, “that’s you in the picture.” 

Her pronunciations of words has gotten a lot better.  She has the ability to answer questions without forcefed answers.  She constantly repeats when she hears on TV, plays along with her TV shows, and the words are easily understood.  I love listening to her talk. 

She LOVES to sing.  She’s my duet partner.  We can belt out a “Sofia the First” song like nobody’s business.  She’s still not into dancing, but I’m hoping that will kick in later.  Right now, she’s my little singer.  I love duets!

She’s growing up.  I see her everyday and those days just fly on by.  The day to day gets so monotonous, I forget that I’m raising a little human being.

But I’m glad I took a day to step back and really watch her.  I’m glad to see that she’s progressed so much over these past months.  I pray that the progress continues at this steady pace.  I pray that I can look at her again after a few months and recognize changes once again.

Have you ever just watched your child and noticed change?  I’d love to hear what you think.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,576 hits
August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
