Living life in the carpool lane..

Mommy doubt..

Posted on: July 11, 2013

I read things about other parenting styles.

Rigid schedules.  Early bedtimes.  Strict diets.  All organic foods.  Homemade baby food.  No TV.  Limited TV.  3 Day Potty training. 

Do I stick M to a rigid schedule?  No.

Does she go to bed by 7pm?  No.

Do I make sure everything that touches M’s mouth is organic?  No.

Do I turn my nose to fried and/or processed foods for M? No.

Does M sleep in her own room? No.

Do I follow the parenting methods of some book or studied the works of parenting experts?  No.

Does that make me a bad parent?  Absolutely not.

Does it sometimes cause me to doubt my parenting skills?  Well.. sometimes…

Yes.. I do question my parenting skills.. and I do question my parenting choices.. but doesn’t everyone? 

Every family is different.  Every child is different.  Every parents “parents” differently. 

However, you can’t avoid comparing yourself to others.  It’s inevitable.   Even if you try to avoid it, sometimes you get unsolicited advice or even criticism of the choices you make for your child.  That causes you to question your skills.

I think a little self-doubt is healthy.  It keeps you aware of the different methods of dealing with parenting situations.  A little self-doubt allows you to think twice about a parenting decision and maybe even helps you try something different if your own methods aren’t quite working to your standards.

I’m learning that mommy doubt is natural, but I shouldn’t let get out of hand.  I’m ok with what I’m doing as a mother.  I’m ok with the decisions I’m making.  I’m ok with the little person M is becoming because of my parenting decisions.

I think the goal for every good parent is simple… to raise a good child to turn him or her into a good adult.  That’s the bottom line. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,569 hits
July 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
