Living life in the carpool lane..

4th of July weekend recap

Posted on: July 8, 2013

It would have been perfect!

We had a 4-day weekend to celebrate the 4th of July…

Wednesday night, we decided to go to the playgroup at the park with M. All was fine until we went home when M’s nose decided to start running like a faucet. I thought to myself, no big deal. It was allergies. Once we got all of “park stuff” out of her system and cleared out her nose, it will all be good.. So made sure to really clean her up well, and really was her face during that night’s bath..

We woke up Thursday morning and she was soo stuffed up. We ended up taking her into the bathroom with us while we showered so that she could benefit from the steam. It helped loosen up her stuffy nose and throat, so we went to the park to celebrate the 4th of July with the rest of the community.

As the day went on, we could see she was getting worse.. her nose was either constantly running, or stuffy. She was getting tired and grumpy.. so we just went home. We didn’t go out the rest of the day, we didn’t see fireworks that night.

During dinner, we noticed that she would clamp down really hard and would tense up her jaw.

Uh oh. Teething.

I peeked into her mouth and noticed that her little canines finally broke through and were little points outside her gums. I also noticed that her gums in the back of her mouth were swollen too. The poor girl was miserable. I gave her a half dose of PediaCare and it took care of the pain.

On Friday, we decided to rest. That’s when MY throat started to feel bad. I knew I was next. My parents came over that night to celebrate the rest of the weekend with us.

Saturday and Sunday, I was miserable! My throat stopped hurting but my head was aching, and my nose was stuffy. M started coughing because all the mucuous from her nose would travel down to her throat at night. That led to her coughing all day!

I had planned on taking my parents and brother to the beach. I planned on taking them to a Farmer’s Market and spending a whole day out and about San Diego..

But… with a toddler, nothing can really be planned.

M and I are both recovering. Thank God, this cold didn’t lead to ANOTHER ear infection for M.. she just finished her final dose of antibiotics for her LAST ear infection about two weeks ago!

Hope everyone else had a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
July 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
