Living life in the carpool lane..

My second Mother’s Day..

Posted on: May 10, 2013

Mother’s Day is coming up..

It’s my second one. 

Last year, M was only 8 months old.. didn’t do much.. but reading last year’s blog post reminded me of what she was like that time..

This year, at 20 months, she’s a completely different person.. and I feel like I’ve grown as a mother..

This past year has taught me patience, as M is approaching the “terrible twos” I have noticed a slight change in her personality and her need to do things without my help.  The crying fits that seem to be controled by a hair trigger have taught me a lot of patience.  Potty training has taught me patience..

This past year has shown me a love I’ve never known.  That love between a child and mother is so pure and precious, I could never take it for granted.  I thank God everyday for this particular blessing.  Her hugs are so genuine.  When she looks me in the eyes and says, “mimi?” when she’s doing something she’s proud of.. I feel her love and admiration. 

She loves me even after I have to be firm with her.  She loves me even after I have to pull her away from something she wanted but couldn’t have.  She loves me after she cries her eyes out when I tell her she can’t do something bad or dangerous.  Seconds later, she’s in my arms and smiling and playing with me again.

She is unconditional love personified. 

On this Mother’s Day, I don’t ask for anything special.  I don’t need flowers, candy, jewelry, or pampering..

On this Mother’s Day, I get all the thanks I need from the special little girl I call my daughter.  I get all the thanks I need when she comes home from being at grandma’s house, runs over to me and gives me the biggest hug she knows how.  I get all the thanks I need when she calls me “mimi.”  I get all the thanks I need just knowing that she’s happy and loved. 

Happy mother’s day to all the wonderful mothers, grandmothers, and mothers-to-be..

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
