Living life in the carpool lane..

Potty training and poop…

Posted on: May 6, 2013

Well.. it WAS going so well..

A week ago, M had a bout of constipation.  It caused a small fissure that would show blood in her stools.  Initially, I thought it was strawberries, but my mother in law said she didn’t eat strawberries..

After emailing her pediatrician a picture of poop, it was determined that she was constipated and needed to take some Miralax to help her out.

I didn’t want to give her Miralax, so we opted for a more natural way to help her.  In came the prune juice, apple juice, corn, broccoli stalks, and other fruits and veggies. 

For the past few weeks, M has really been all about “noo-nuls.”  She wanted noodles all the time.. noodles or rice.. I think it was all that starch that contributed to her constipation..

We still feed her noodles, but now we make sure that she’s eating her veggies and other foods during dinner.  It’s a battle, but it’s a battle we are currently winning as her digestive system is starting to find it’s way back to normalcy..

This leads to problems in potty training.  The harder it became for her to go #2, the more hesitant she became to sit on her potty.  The last time she tried on her potty to go #2, she cried.  That was it.. and she didn’t want to do anything on the potty any more.. not even pee.

She’ll still sit on the potty.. but when it comes to actually doing business on it, she’ll cry.  I try to tell her that it’s ok to even just go pee pee, but she still won’t.  She still loves using the potty as an excuse to get her out of situations, but she just won’t go.

I know she’s very young and she still has a lot of time to readjust, but she was doing so well!

I will continue to sit her down on the potty, since she still likes it, but I won’t force her to actually go until she’s ready.  I don’t want to traumatize her, but I want her to still remember that the potty is always there for her.

I’m sure tons of parents have experienced this in the past… what did you do to get your toddler back in the potty habit?

2 Responses to "Potty training and poop…"

I had a similar set back when I was potty training my oldest. The only thing to do is keep consistently putting her on the potty and reminding her to go. It took awhile and there were accidents, but eventually she got it! Don’t give up. It does get easier!

Thanks for the advice. I know she’ll start using it again.. it’s just so disappointing when she was doing so well the weeks before… I definitely won’t give up.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,576 hits
May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
