Living life in the carpool lane..

No nap nellie!

Posted on: April 23, 2013

Yesterday, I picked up M early from work.

We had a cute little lunch date at Boston Market, then we went home because it was her afternoon nap time.

We got home.. and she was just not sleepy.. not even a little bit.  She never yawned, sucked her thumb, or gave me any indication that she was tired.

She was just so excited to be home with me, all she wanted to do was play..

I tried to hold her and sway her.  I tried to lie down with her and tried to get her to wind down.  I tried to turn all the lights off and turn the tv off.

None of it worked.  She just wanted to spend time with me.

So.. I gave in. 

We had afternoon snacks, and we played.  We colored.  We sang.  We danced. 

I was hoping to tire her out so she could take a quick nap.. but she never did.

I was anticipating a very grumpy, tired girl by dinner time.  However, I was pleasantly surprised at how great she was.

I thought she was going to go to bed by 8 or 9 pm.  She was starting to show signs of sleepiness by then.  Her eyes were getting droopy, she was yawning more.. but still not a grumpy outburst at all.

Eventually, by 10pm, after her bath and night time routine, she looked at me and said, “go bed?”

So, she had some milk and off to bed we went.

It didn’t take any more than 5 minutes and she was out!

It was awesome!  She didn’t stall at all!  It was a wonderful feeling!

Ok.. I know naps are still important at this age.. but her lack of afternoon nap resulted in the best bed time ever!

It’s nice to get those little breaks in the system..

 

2 Responses to "No nap nellie!"

My baby is 19 months and I don’t know what I would do without nap time! I’m dreading the day she doesn’t want to take one anymore. But the going down with no fuss is priceless!

For the most part, my daughters naps occur while I’m at work.. so when I get home, she doesn’t sleep until bed time.. When I pick her up early, which is rare, I expect her to nap at her usual time, but she just doesn’t. I was so tempted to stick her in the car and drive around to get her to fall asleep.. she usually falls asleep so quickly that way..

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,576 hits
April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
