Living life in the carpool lane..

Potty training is no joke!

Posted on: April 11, 2013

Who ever said potty training was a test of patience wasn’t joking!

This potty training thing is difficult..

I guess you can say that I’m not training her in the sense that she has to be out of diapers by a certain time.  I’ve been taking my time with her and letting her own nature take it’s course.  So far she’s been progressing fairly well.. and granted there are good days and bad days.. for the most part.. it’s all been good.

I haven’t taken her out of diapers yet.  She’s only 19 months!  I know we aren’t ready for that step.

But I have to say, there are days where we won’t have to change her PullUp until the lining inside gets all bunchy and outta place.

Over the weekend, she wore her Pull Up from 11pm til about 2:30pm the next day!  That’s over 12 hours of using the potty!

She’s really progressing on her own, and I’m glad that it’s a “no pressure” situation for her and all of us.

It DOES take a toll on me..

While I welcome in whole-heartedly, she will wake up slightly into the night and ask to potty.  I’m a girl that LOVES her sleep, so having to get up in the middle of the night to take a half-asleep kid to the potty just kills me a little bit.  But I know that I shouldn’t hinder her progress and I just give up as one of the many mommy sacrifices I must make in my life.

M’s also starting to be very vocal about her needs.. which is great.  She lets us know that she has to go even when we are out running errands.

I’ve taken to bringing a portable potty, but she’s still not used to it.  I’ve tried to sit her on the adult potties and holding her carefully, but she’s too scared.  I’ve tried to bring her Elmo potty with us on the road, but there’s too much distraction sitting on her potty in the trunk of our SUV..

She won’t go when we are out, but then she’ll also hold it in as long as she can until we go home.  She’ll even beg to go home because she needs “potty.”   I feel so bad that I tell her it’s ok to go in her diaper.. but sometimes she just won’t go.  Poor baby holds it in til we get home..

The travel potty and bringing her Elmo just won’t work right now because she’s still at the stage where she needs all the conditions to be “just right.”  I know eventually she’ll get over it and learn to go in whatever potty is presented to her, but it’s just a frustrating process for her and I together.  I wish there was a way that she could go potty outside the home in the receptacles I provide her…

Last Sunday, we went to Mass.  I don’t think I sat in for half of it because most of the time we were outside on her Elmo potty in the back of our SUV.  She really had to go but just couldn’t do it.  She had fallen asleep and missed out on our lunch… it seemed like hours and hours.. once we got home, I put her on her potty and she did her business.  She held it in for so so long.  I can’t help but feel bad.

How did you do the whole potty training thing when they had to go outside the house but just couldn’t do it?  Suggestions?

1 Response to "Potty training is no joke!"

[…] Potty training is no joke! […]

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
