Living life in the carpool lane..

Easter 2013 recap

Posted on: April 1, 2013

How was your Easter?

I’m hoping yours was a Blessed Easter Sunday.  Ours was.. well.. interesting..

Everything started on Saturday.

We went to a picnic at the Admiral Baker park.  There was to be an Easter Egg hunt for the kiddos, so we went.  Harmless enough.

The food was abundant, as to be expected when hosted by a bunch of Filipinos.

There was one food there that I have a personal rule about.  Kare-kare.  Due to previous experiences, and the little known fact that this food, although super yummy, has a reputation of spoiling really fast, I always make sure NOT to eat it unless I know it’s been freshly cooked.

I didn’t make sure of how freshly cooked this dish was, but I assumed that since the picnic had just started, everything would be ok.  So I ate it.  Hubby ate it.  My parents ate it.

Shortly after, my father in law asked us if we ate it.  Yes, we did.  He was worried.  He told us that he just had to throw it out because it was starting to show signs of being spoiled.  Oh no!!!

We were hoping that we had eaten it just before things went south and that we hopefully wouldn’t get sick! 

So.. the party went on with thoughts of doubling over a toilet in the back of our heads.. but we didn’t let it phase us.  No no no..

They were preparing for the Easter Egg hunt when I noticed M starting to get a little sleepy.. Since the egg hunt was in about a half an hour, I decided to let her take a quick little cat nap..

However, by the time they were ready for the egg hunt… she wouldn’t wake up!  So I told Hubby to take her anyway, grab about 4 or 5, and we’ll do it at home..

So here’s Hubby:
Untitled

We got a couple eggs, then the hosts of the picnic decided to do a Senior’s Egg Hunt, so my father in law grabbed M about 5-6 more eggs.  So much for M’s first real Easter Egg Hunt…

We left the picnic feeling very confident we avoided the food poisoning of the spoiled kare-kare.. so much so that we went down to National City and had halo-halo with ice cream on top.. went to Costco and ate cheese and salami.. and then had cheese and salami sandwhiches for dinner!

 Then.. Hubby started to complain about his stomach.  Suddenly he was in and out of the bathroom.

Then.. my mom..

My dad and I thought we were pretty luckily.  While the two of them we starting to feel the effects, he and I were just fine. 

Wrong!

Much later into the night, my stomach started to turn.. and into the bathroom I went. 

My father, into the wee hours after midnight, was making his run into the bathroom.

This went on for the good part of Easter Sunday.  So much so, that we had to put M’s potty outside of the bathroom in case one of us was in there when she needed to go.

Needless to say, we didn’t get to go to Easter Mass.  M didn’t get to wear her fancy Easter dress.  We missed out on a yummy Easter brunch with the family.

Well… luckily, we’re all ok now.  I’m able to go to work and I think I can eat food again. 

The best part?!  I lost THREE pounds!!!

Hope your Easter was happy and blessed!

2 Responses to "Easter 2013 recap"

Lol @ I lost three pounds!
Happy belated Easter! Hugs to the family!

Thanks! Happy belated Easter to you and the fam! Looks like you guys had lots of fun!

I’m hoping to keep these three pounds off.. we’ll see though.. hahah!

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,474 hits
April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
