Living life in the carpool lane..

The grocery dilemma..

Posted on: January 15, 2013

When I first moved to SD, I remember writing a blog post about how to manage grocery shopping, meal planning, and stuff like that..

It’s been about two years since then, and while I thought I had it under control, evidently, I don’t.

For awhile, we were buying a lot of perishables at Costco, but realized that we were throwing so much food away because it would go bad before we could make a dent in the stash..

We decided that we’d go grocery shopping for veggies and other perisables about once a week at a regular grocery store.  We’d plan what foods to make for the week and then buy accordingly.

Even THAT is proving difficult.

We were at the grocery store on Saturday.  I could NOT figure out what I wanted to make for this week.  It’s hard to decide on food ahead of time.

There are just too many options.  AND it’s hard to think about food when you aren’t hungry!

Maybe it’s because I’m a working mom, that I’m having such a hard time with this.  I just wish we could come up with a better system that doesn’t require a daily trip to the grocery store to get the veggies that I need for dinner that night.

I’m all for the freezing of cooked meals to have for future use, but since we don’t have a big freezer, we have no room for storage..

Any suggestions?!

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
