Living life in the carpool lane..

Little M fears..

Posted on: December 13, 2012

As Little M gets older, she is becoming a lot more aware of her surroundings.  She’s starting to understand a lot of what goes on around her.  She has feelings about what she sees, hears, feels, eats.. etc.

This also means that she is starting to develop fears and anxieties to things that never seemed to bother her before..

For instance, she absolutely freaks out over the Jack In The Box commercial of Jack and his employee playing racketball.. she hates seeing the guy get hit in the back with the ball.. or maybe it’s Jack’s giant head.. I’m not sure what scares her, but she runs to me the instant that commercial starts.  We have to change the channel while it’s playing.  Luckily, it looks like that commercial is out of rotation for many channels now..

She suddenly developed a fear for one of the television personalities on The Filipino Channel.  He’s a guy that usually wears this wig that makes his hair look big, and he announces what’s going on in the Filipino communities around the world.  I’m not quite sure what she doesn’t like about it.. but suddenly she doesn’t like seeing him on TV.

A few nights ago, I wanted her to pick up one of her toys on the ground near the TV.  She saw some wierd commercial and was so hesitant to go near the TV.  It lasted for awhile.  She would point at the TV saying, “no, no!”  I couldn’t figure out what was wrong, but I didn’t force her to get her toy.  I just let her sit in my lap until the anxiety went away.

There are also certain features on some of her toys that cause her a tiny bit of fear.  Suddenly she’ll run to me if her toy makes a certain sound she is unsure of. 

Sometimes it’s a sound that an object makes that Hubby or I are using. 

I know it’s part of her learning about the world and how to deal emotionally with her surroundings.  I just hate seeing my baby feel like that.  I’m glad that a big hug and kiss can usually make that fear go away for her.  I’m hoping that throughout her life that she knows she can always come to me for comfort for all her anxieties in life.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
December 2012
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
