Living life in the carpool lane..

The 24 hour bug..

Posted on: November 30, 2012

Little M came home on Monday from Grandma’s house with a fever. 

I gave her fever reducer when she got home.  That night, she had another fever which I gave her fever reducer for at 2am.

With her, that’s usually a pattern she goes through when she gets an ear infection.

So, I went home from work on Tuesday in order to keep an eye on her and take her to the doctor to make sure she doesn’t have an ear infection. 

The last time we went to the doctors office was last month for her second set of 12month vaccinations.  I had them split so that it wouldn’t be so bad..

She was absolutely miserable. She cried so hard.  I had never heard or seen her cry so hard in her life.  I felt awful that I put her through all of it, but I had to..

Taking her in on Tuesday, I didn’t think she would remember that experience.  Over a month had passed and I was sure that it wouldn’t be a huge deal.

WRONG!

She was fine up until the nurse called her in.  It was the same nurse that gave her all of her shots, and I was surprised that she recognized her.

I had a few things to hold so I was hoping that M would walk into the room, but as soon as she saw the lady, she wanted me to carry her right away.

Her face changed immediately into a face of pure nerves and fear.

Poor girl.

She didn’t cry out loud.. she just got really teary eyed and had that little cry-pout.  The whole time the nurse was checking her vitals, she was saying “mimi! mimi!” like she thought I was going to leave her.

She held on to me sooo tight.  All I could say was “I’m here.  I’m not going to leave you.”  I just held her so tight back.  It was the only thing I could think of to comfort her.

She didn’t want to be touched by the nurses or the doctor.  She just thought this was bad news all around.

Poor baby.  I didn’t realize how traumatizing the previous experience was for her..

Thank God, she didn’t have an ear infection and she didn’t have a fever for the rest of the day.. it was just a 24 hour bug that came and went quickly.

M has her 15month well-baby check up in about a week and a half.  I feel terrible about it.  She’s going to get shots and it’s just going to perpetuate her fear..

How did you handle your child’s fear of doctors, or just fears, in general?

 

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,573 hits
November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
