Living life in the carpool lane..

Never forget: November 21st, 2012

Posted on: November 27, 2012

Why is this date so significant?

Because this was the day that Little M lashed out at me in anger.

It’s significant because its probably the official start to the “terrible” years… sigh.  I didn’t think it would come THIS soon..

For the past few weeks she’s been showing signs of tantrums and crying fits.  This especially happens when you take something away from her that she isn’t done playing with.  She will cry, kind of get on the floor and flop around in a little fit.

On November 21st, 2012, she had gone through her diaper bag and took out her bottle of fever reducer.  Obviously, she isn’t allowed to play with that so I kindly took it away from her telling her that she couldn’t play with it because its dangerous.

She was not happy.  She started crying and throwing a tantrum.  Before she can go through a major “flop on the floor” fest, I carried her so she would stop.  She takes her little hand and hits me saying, “No!”

I handed her another toy and she was quickly over the whole ordeal, but I wasn’t.

I was devastated.  I was so sad.

Hubby said, “Don’t be sad.  She’s growing up.”

It’s up to us to make sure we wrangle that sort of behavior.  I just didn’t think that we had to start worrying about it at this point of her little life.

Generally, she’s a happy kid.  She’s a good kid.  But I know that as she’s growing and becoming more aware of her surroundings and everything else around her, I know she’s going to start thinking about more things on her own.  I know she’s going to start experimenting with behaviors and seeing how far she can get away with things.  I took my child development classes in college.  I sort of remember all those things.

I honestly didn’t think this stuff was going to happen so soon..

How old was your toddler when they started showing signs of the “terrible” years?  Did it really start at “terrible two” or much sooner?

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,536 hits
November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
