Living life in the carpool lane..

Adventures in parenting..

Posted on: November 23, 2012

After a year or so of parenting, I totally thought I had it down.  I thought this parenting thing was so easy.  I was ready start  giving unsolicited advice to new mothers and possibly write a how-to book…

Ok, not really.

The point is… I felt totally under control.

Until this past weekend.

We were out of town on an overnight stay to be with some family friends.  We were asked to run a quick errand and we took M with us.

Thinking that it was going to be quick, i decided to not bring the diaper bag…

Hubby and I made it to the last stop on our errands (buying food) when hubby makes the comment , “M, you better not go #2 while we are gone… Mommy didn’t bring your diaper bag.”

It’s like he knew….

As we were waiting for our food to arrive, a certain familiar smell hits my nose…

I panic.  She doesn’t have a diaper, what if she gets a rash?  Or worse, what if she gets a urinary infection if I don’t clean her up right away?

So I take her to the bathroom with a game plan.  I was going to take the poo out of her diaper, wipe her down with wet toilet paper, put the diaper back on lined with toilet paper.

Gross, yes I know.  But I figured it was better than risking her getting a rash or infection over it.

However, angels in the form of a mother and toddler came in just in time.

She kindly gave me a diaper after asking her for one and we were good to go!

I felt so low on the parenting scale.

Toddlers are so unpredictable and seem to follow Murphy’s law.  I should have known better. I should always be prepared.

Parenting lesson learned!

2 Responses to "Adventures in parenting.."

Definitely unpredictable. That was nice of the other mother to be so generous. Lesson learned. Now, maybe you can write the book.

I should.. it will be called “Parenting advice from a self-proclaimed parenting expert.. advice whether you like it or not!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,491 hits
November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
