Living life in the carpool lane..

Raising her right…

Posted on: August 30, 2012

I finally planted the seed into my darling little girl.

What seed?

Well, the musical theater seed, of course!

It all started one night when my mother kept singing “Happy Talk” from South Pacific.  I found the video on YouTube, but Little M wasn’t too interested.

Then, it hit me.

The Sound Of Music!

I loved that movie as a kid.  I would watch it every day and I had every line memorized when I was about 6 years old.

Why not start it now?

So I found “The Lonely Goatherd” on Youtube and pressed play.

She LOVED it!  She watched it over and over and over. 

The smile on her face was priceless.

I found the DVD and decided to show it to her on the TV and she was so happy.

I decided to try another song, “So Long, Farewell.”

She loved that too.  She enjoyed all the songs that featured the Von Trapp children. 

Now, you can sing the end of “So Long, Farewell” and she’ll also sing “Bah-Bye…” in her little falsetto tone.  It’s so cute!

She likes the “Happy Talk” song from South Pacific, but only when her grandma sings it, and she even does the little hand gestures like the video because my mom shows them to her.

I think I’ll stick to Rodgers & Hammerstein musicals for now.  We’ll save Spring Awakening and Avenue Q for later.. much, much later.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
