Living life in the carpool lane..

Doesn’t get easier..

Posted on: May 7, 2012

So, I’ve been back at work for about five months or so now..

And I have to tell you that leaving my nice warm bed with my comfy, cozy Little M snuggled up next to me does NOT get easier with time..

In fact, I think it’s getting harder and harder..

Yesterday morning, I woke up to a sense of someone leaning on my shoulder.  I open my eyes and there’s Little M’s wide awake face staring intently at my sleepy face.

She had the biggest smile when she saw me wake up.. like she was waiting to see how long it took for me to realize she was watching me..

It’s those moments on the weekend that I look forward to the most.  The older she gets, the more aware she is, and that makes her so much more fun to wake up with.

I think that’s also what makes it so much harder for me to leave her every morning during the week..

It makes me sad that we don’t get those little “waking up” moments everyday.. and to think that she has to wake up without me in the morning is heartbreaking.  I’m sure for her she doesn’t quite understand.. she just wakes up.. sometimes mommy is there and sometimes she isn’t.. and that’s the consolation I get.. it doesn’t affect her as much as it affects me..

I know that it’s supposed to make my weekends even more special.. and yadda yadda blah blah blah.. but is that really necessary?  It doesn’t make me feel better..

1 Response to "Doesn’t get easier.."

You’re story about waking up with M looking at you is so cute. Weekend mornings we bring our little guy into bed with us just to roll around and play and be lazy before we start the day. It’s such a sweeter way to start the day than weekday mornings that have to be on time.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
