Living life in the carpool lane..

Pregnancy.. my thoughts..

Posted on: September 14, 2011

I had initially wanted to post an entry like this at the start of my maternity leave, thinking that I had time to do so before little M was born.  However, little M had other plans..

I wanted to take a moment to reflect on the pregnancy that took over this past year..

Being my first pregnancy, it opened the door to a whole new set of feelings, both emotional feelings and physical feelings.. I learned new strengths and new weaknesses from this pregnancy..I learned that french fries and ice cream were my saving graces that got me through the first and last trimesters, respectively..

I learned that being pregnant in the summer was a “no-no.” Summer heat is no friend to the pregnant..

I learned when to baby myself and when to just work through the discomfort.. a pregnancy isn’t necessarily a disability and I had to learn to work through the minor discomforts and not depend on the people around me if it wasn’t absolutely necessary..

Giving birth taught me that my pain tolerance is higher than I thought.. I took myself to the limits of my pain threshold before giving in and getting an epidural..

Giving birth  showed me a strength I never knew I had in me.. I spent the entire pregnancy dreading the delivery.. but I knew it had to be done.. I worried so much about little M’s well-being during the process that I worked really hard to get her out as safely as possible..

I realized how blessed I am for having such a great husband that coached me through the pain.. and having a mother that stayed up with me all night because it was so hard to fall asleep between contractions..

This whole ordeal has just been an interesting experience.. from that first day of learning I was pregnant, to that first night having her in my arms.. I wouldn’t trade a day of it for any reason..

1 Response to "Pregnancy.. my thoughts.."

[…] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensplitdropdown() { document.getElementById('splittablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('splitmouse').style.display = 'none'; var titleincell = document.getElementById('titleincell').value; if (titleincell == 'yes') {document.getElementById('splittitletext').style.display = 'none';} } function closesplitdropdown() { document.getElementById('splittablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('splitmouse').style.display = ''; var titleincell = document.getElementById('titleincell').value; if (titleincell == 'yes') {document.getElementById('splittitletext').style.display = '';} } PregnancyPregnancies and BirthPregnancy.. my thoughts.. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,491 hits
September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
